Tags

, , , , ,

On February 2nd I ran the Miami Marathon. That’s about all I can say. It was such a horribly run event. I didn’t post right after the race because I was so upset. Let me explain my experience. I got to the race later than I had planned because of transportation issues. I was unable to get to my corral because the streets were closed for blocks in every direction. A volunteer told to stand in a corner and wait until my group came forward. When my G corral was called I mainly saw every other subsequent letter but very few G runners. Obviously lots of other people couldn’t get where they were supposed to be either.

The race began ok. My strategy was to run very slowly until mile 7 and then pick up one minute per mile for the next 3 miles and then pick up another minute per mile for the last 3 miles. I was right on target until mile 9 when they ran out of water until mile 12. The hot and humid day made me almost pass out. I was upset. Then I got to the finish and they ran out of finisher’s medals. They were actually handing out broken medals. I was pretty appalled. I have never seen that in my entire life. It made Miami look like a banana republic, not the “Miami Famous” they tout as their slogan. Miami Infamous is more like it. Needless to say I will never run that race again.

On to my race today. It was a small 5k called Race Through the Meadow. It was a cool day today so I was hoping for a good run. I had trained to peak two weeks ago, so I knew it wouldn’t a great race, but I felt good. I finished 45 seconds better than last year. I’ll take that. I had fun and that’s what it’s all about.

I begin my duathlon season training on Monday. I chose an Endurance Nation Half Ironman plan with what they call an outseason plan. It is basically a base training plan with a funky name. It’s high intensity interval training. I’m looking forward to it. Hoping I can get faster. I’ll keep you informed.

