Tags

, , ,

Welcome to my blog.

A little bit about myself: I’ve been running since I was a child. I was a sprinter in high school. At the age of 35 I was diagnosed with fibromyalgia. I could go to work for 2 hours a day and pretty much spent the rest of my life in bed. After 8 years I was able to begin running again. I was still not healthy. My immune system was pretty bad. In 2009 I found an amazing nutritionist who got my diet and, subsequently, me in good condition. I felt competitive again. I wanted more of a challenge then the 5Ks I was running gave me. I felt like I was alive again and wanted to test myself. I knew triathlon was a growing sport and thought I would give it a try.

In 2012 I decided to attempt a duathlon as I was not a swimmer. Swimming gave me severe headaches to the point I would want to run away from the pool. I found a free 2 month Sprint Duathlon training plan that was extremely generic. I completed the race. I have never DNFed a race. It was an experience. Not necessarily a good one. I cramped up and had to walk most of the 5k. I decided to hire a coach. He was good, but expensive. I began self coaching in 2013.

I got Total Immersion swim lessons and attempted my first Sprint triathlon in April 2013. My severe equilibrium problems (and nearly being drowned) turned me off to swimming. I am just not a swimmer. A duathlete was born. I ran three Sprint duathlons in 2013. I earned one first place, one second place in my age division and one third place overall. Pretty good for a beginner.

In 2014 I have planned a half marathon (my first), a couple of 5Ks, three Sprint duathlons, Powerman Florida, and Miami Man half-iron duathlon.

I’m nervous and excited. Thank you for joining me on my journey.

